Anniversary

Today is three years since my dad passed away.

It was  quick agonising death that only took four days. Metastatic Melanoma.

Today I went to the International Airshow at Avalon, because he loved planes, trains, and trucks etc. I thought it would be appropriate to take his spirit there since he never got a chance to go see such a spectacular event.    It was loud, from all the jets and helicopters and PA system, busy with easily 20,000 people doing much the same.  And mindbogglingly fascinating.   I still miss him and wish he was here to share my blogs.

I miss writing letters to him and making his favorite fruitcake with toasted almond slivers on top; and the endless chats over strong black tea with 2 sugars.

i miss cooking him simple hearty meals and the way he would always be interested in what the kids where up to.

I miss everything there is to be said about him.  I still miss my father – Robert “bob”Charles Swain born in Preston, Victoria and passed away, unfortunately in the Andrew Love Cancer Centre Geelong .

So here are some photos of my dad from the earlier years. Damn he was a good looking bloke.

Leave a Reply

